RATIO - MARGIN RATE AND BRAND RATE
Management control

RATIO - MARGIN RATE AND BRAND RATE

In the restaurant business, it is sometimes difficult to control costs and set prices. Indeed, restaurant owners need to ensure that their business is financially sound. It is therefore essential to make calculations and use ratios or performance indicators to help manage the restaurant. In the restaurant sector, these ratios are mainly based on the margin rate or gross margin. However, other data must be taken into account, such as the brand rate, which helps to determine the profitability of the business.

In this article we will explain how to use these ratios and especially how to analyse the brand rate of your restaurant. The gross margin is necessary to calculate the brand rate, so you must first know how to obtain this data.

Ratio: The gross margin


For a restaurant business, the first ratio and performance indicator to study is the gross margin. The gross margin rate is used to determine the selling price of your company's products. This margin ratio is calculated according to the cost of purchasing materials. It is therefore necessary to improve this ratio as much as possible by reducing the cost of raw materials.

The calculation of this margin rate is simple. It is the turnover minus the cost of raw materials:
Gross margin = Turnover - Cost of raw materials

There are two types of calculation then, the theoretical gross margin and the actual gross margin. For more information on this point we invite you to read this article on gross margin.

Ratio: The mark rate


Once the gross margin is obtained, the brand rate can be deduced. This is also a management indicator that helps to monitor the company's activities. The objective of this data is to study profitability. Like the gross margin, it is therefore necessary to improve this rate as much as possible to increase profitability.

The brand rate takes into account the selling price in its calculation, unlike the gross margin which uses the purchase price. Moreover, the gross margin is used to calculate the brand rate because:
Brand rate = ( Gross margin / Sales price ) x 100

You now know the percentage of the sales margin in the selling price of your products, which allows you to analyse the profitability but also to set a selling price. In fact, if we modify the calculation a little and look for the selling price, we obtain the following formula:
Selling price = Purchase price / (1 - Brand rate)

Ratios and performance indicators provide you with concrete data on your business, on cost control and on the profitability of your products. They help in the management of your business but this process and these calculations can be time consuming and recurrent.

Ratio software

Management software like Koust allows you to simplify the calculations. For example, our tool can calculate the gross margin on your ingredients, recipes and menus for you. The software directly takes into account the purchase of raw materials and the quantity sold, i.e. the turnover achieved, to give the margin. Our solution is a time saver for restaurant owners because it simplifies management, price/quantity control and therefore ensures the financial health of the establishment.

Koust

Koust is a management software dedicated to CHR professions.
Koust allows you to optimize the profitability of your establishment.
The idea is simple: better control over quantities and costs by having more control over procurement and production.

Free Trial

Request a demo

RATIO – TAUX DE MARGE ET TAUX DE MARQUE
Controle de gestion

RATIO – TAUX DE MARGE ET TAUX DE MARQUE

En restauration, il est parfois difficile de contrôler les coûts et de fixer ses prix de vente. En effet, les restaurateurs doivent s’assurer de la bonne santé financière de leur entreprise. Il est donc indispensable de faire des calculs et d’utiliser des ratios ou indicateurs de performance qui aident à la gestion du restaurant. Parmi ces ratios, en restauration, on parle principalement de taux de marge ou marge brute. Il faut néanmoins prendre en compte d’autres données comme le taux de marque qui aide à connaître la rentabilité de l’activité.

Dans cet article nous allons vous expliquer comment utiliser ces ratios et surtout comment analyser le taux de marque de son restaurant. La marge brute est nécessaire pour calculer le taux de marque, il faut donc savoir dans un premier temps comment obtenir cette donnée.

Ratio : La marge brute


Pour une activité dans la restauration, le premier ratio et indicateur de performance à étudier est la marge brute. Le taux de marge brute permet de fixer le prix de vente des produits de votre entreprise. Ce ratio de marge est calculé en fonction du coût d’achat de matière. Il faut donc améliorer ce taux du mieux possible en réduisant le coût des matières premières à l’achat.

Le calcul de ce taux de marge est simple. Il s’agit du chiffre d’affaires soustrait au coût des matières premières :
Marge Brute = Chiffre d’affaires – Coût des matières premières

Il y a deux types de calculs ensuite, celui de la marge brute théorique et celui de la marge brute réelle. Pour plus d’informations sur ce point nous vous invitons à lire cet article sur la marge brute.

Ratio : Le taux de marque


Une fois la marge brute obtenue on peut en déduire le taux de marque. Il s’agit également d’un indicateur de gestion qui aide au suivi des activités de l’entreprise. L’objectif de cette donnée est d’étudier la rentabilité. Tout comme la marge brute il faut donc améliorer ce taux du mieux possible pour augmenter cette rentabilité.

Le taux de marque prend en compte le prix de vente dans son calcul contrairement à la marge brute qui utilise le prix d’achat. De plus la marge brute sert au calcul du taux de marque car :
Taux de marque = ( Marge brute / Prix de vente ) x 100

Vous connaissez maintenant le pourcentage de marge commerciale dans le prix de vente de vos produits, ce qui vous permet d’analyser la rentabilité mais aussi de fixer un prix de vente. En effet, si l’on modifie un peu le calcul et que l’on cherche le prix de vente on obtient la formule suivante :
Prix de vente = Prix d’achat / (1 – Taux de marque)

Les ratios et indicateurs de performance vous permettent de ressortir des données concrètes sur votre activité, sur le contrôle des coûts et sur la rentabilité de vos produits. Ils aident à la gestion de votre entreprise mais ce processus et ces calculs peuvent être longs à réaliser et récurrents.

Logiciel ratio

Un logiciel de gestion comme Koust vous permet de simplifier les calculs. Par exemple, notre outil pourra calculer pour vous la marge brute réalisée sur vos ingrédients, recettes et menus. Le logiciel prend directement en compte l’achat de matière première et la quantité de vente soit le chiffre d’affaires réaliser pour donner la marge. Notre solution est un gain de temps pour les restaurateurs car il permet de simplifier la gestion, le contrôle des prix / quantités et donc de s’assurer de la santé financière de son établissement.

Koust

Koust est un logiciel de gestion dédie aux métiers CHR.
Koust permet d’optimiser la rentabilité de votre établissement.
L’idée est simple : mieux contrôler les quantités et les coûts en ayant plus de contrôle sur l’approvisionnement et la production.

Essai gratuit

Demander une démo