Eco-Score at the table
restaurant management

Eco-Score at the table

The government is passing the law to fight food waste and the circular economy on 10 February 2020. This law plans to encourage consumers to identify and favour more responsible and ecological foods, which is why a "reparability" index has been introduced. A brand new label could therefore appear in the next few months or years.

Placed on restaurant dishes, it would aim to inform consumers of the environmental impact of the various products they consume.

This is the Eco-Score, an environmental rating that will complement the nutri-score. It is already used on many products in shops and provides information on the nutritional values of a product.

The objective of the Eco-score is above all educational. It is a tool to raise awareness about the ecological impact of our food. And therefore to increase our knowledge of the environmental issues related to this sector. 

What is the Eco-Score?

This Eco-Score will result in a grade from A to E measuring the environmental impact of their production. We calculate the score on a sheet with a colour code ranging from green, for products with a low environmental impact, to red, for products with a very high environmental impact.

Since the beginning of the year, some brands such as FoodChéri have displayed an Eco-Score under their recipes.

To calculate the final score, a score out of 100 was established via a system of bonuses and malus. Various criteria are therefore taken into account. Such as the origin of the products, recyclability of packaging, labels, country of origin, seasonality, etc.

The score is calculated from Agribalyse data, and also from additional criteria with positive or negative environmental impacts. This is the case for elements such as labels or the seasonality of ingredients for example.

So a burger recipe with products from Spain would be better rated if it was organic, and even better rated if it was from France.

LCA

This method complements the CVA. It is the reference environmental assessment methodology in the scientific world for evaluating the various impacts on the environment.

We take into account all stages of a product's life cycle for the flow inventory. That is, the extraction of the necessary energy and non-energy raw materials. From the manufacture of the product to distribution, via use, collection or disposal to the end-of-life channels. But also all the transport phases.

The objective of the Eco-score

30% of the world's greenhouse gas emissions are emitted by food. 60% of drinking water consumption and the majority of packaging waste.

The starting point of this eco-score approach is therefore to generate clear and precise information on the environmental impacts of the products consumed

The aim of this score is to be a tool to guide our food choices towards a more environmentally responsible consumption pattern.

How to set up an Eco-Score?

There are two possible solutions for restaurateurs. On the one hand, they can read the methodology in open access on https://docs.score-environnemental.com, or on the other hand, they can automate in a simpler way by using the calculators developed by numerous platforms.

In this way, the restaurant owner can also obtain the Nutri-Score of his recipes as well as a social impact score. This meets a very strong consumer demand by helping them to choose foods. In particular, it helps them choose the foods with the best nutritional quality by providing simple, understandable and, above all, readable information.

The government has made it compulsory to display the nutriscore on the packaging of pre-packaged products. Consumers sometimes find it very difficult to decipher the nutritional tables and find themselves lost in this mass of information.

In order to facilitate the understanding of the latter, the European regulation allows for additional nutritional information to be placed on the packaging.

Koust

Koust is a management software dedicated to CHR professions.
Koust allows you to optimize the profitability of your establishment.
The idea is simple: better control over quantities and costs by having more control over procurement and production.

Free Trial

Request a demo

Blog

L’éco-Score s’invite à table
gestion restaurant

L’éco-Score s’invite à table

Le gouvernement vote la loi pour la lutte contre le gaspillage alimentaire et l’économie circulaire le 10 février 2020. Celle-ci prévoit d’inciter et d’encourager les consommateurs à repérer et à privilégier les aliments plus responsables et écologiques, c’est pour quoi un indice de « réparabilité » a été mis en place. Une toute nouvelle étiquette pourrait lors faire son apparition dans les prochains mois ou prochaines années.

Mise en place sur les plats des restaurants elle aurait pour objectif d’informer les consommateurs de l’impact environnement des différents produits qu’ils consomment.

Il s’agit de l’Eco-Score, une note environnementale qui viendra en complément du nutri-score. Déjà utilisé sur des nombreux produits en magasin et qui informe sur les valeurs nutritionnelles d’un produit.

L’objectif de l’Eco-score est avant tout pédagogique. C’est un outil qui permet de sensibiliser sur l’impact écologique de notre alimentation. Et donc d’augmenter nos connaissances en ce qui concerne les enjeux environnementaux liés à ce secteur. 

Qu’est-ce que l’Eco-Score ?

Cet Éco-Score, donnera lieu à une note de A à E mesurant l’impact environnemental de leur production. Nous calculons le score obtenu par une feuille avec un code couleur variant du vert, pour les produits ayant un impact environnemental faible au rouge, pour les produits ayant un impact environnemental très fort.

Certaines enseignes comme FoodChéri affichent depuis le début de l’année un Eco-Score sous leurs recettes.

Pour calculer la note finale, un score sur 100 a été établie via un système de bonus et de malus. Différents critères sont donc pris en compte. Comme, la provenance des produits, recyclabilité des emballages, des labels, du pays de provenance, de la saisonnalité, ect…

La note est calculée à partir de données d’Agribalyse, et également à partir de critères complémentaires à impacts environnementaux positif ou négatif. C’est le cas pour des éléments comme les labels ou encore la saisonnalité des ingrédients par exemple.

Ainsi une recette de burger avec des produits provenant d’Espagne serait mieux noté en étant bio, et encore mieux noté s’ils viennent de France.

L’ACV

Cette méthode vient en complément de l’AVC. Il s’agit de la méthodologie d’évaluation environnementale de référence dans le monde scientifique pour évaluer les différents impacts sur l’environnement.

Nous prenons en compte toutes les étapes du cycle de vie d’un produit pour l’inventaire des flux. C’est à dire l’extraction des matières premières énergétiques et non énergétiques nécessaires. De la fabrication du produit à la distribution, en passant par l’utilisation, la collecte ou encore l’élimination vers les filières de fin de vie. Mais également toutes les phases de transport.

L’objectif de l’Eco-score

30% des émissions de gaz à effet de serre sont émises par l’alimentation au niveau mondial. 60% de la consommation en eau potable et la majorité des déchets d’emballage.

Le point de départ de cette démarche d’éco score est donc de générer une information claire et précise sur les impacts environnementaux des produits consommés

L’objectif de ce score est d’être un outil pour guider nos choix alimentaires vers un mode de consommation plus écoresponsable.

Comment mettre en place un Eco-Score ?

Deux solutions sont possibles pour les restaurateurs. D’une part, prendre connaissance de la méthodologie en open access sur https://docs.score-environnemental.com, ou d’autre part, automatiser de manière plus simple en passant par les calculateurs développés par de nombreuses plateformes.

Par ce biais, le restaurateur peut également obtenir le Nutri-Score de ses recettes ainsi qu’une note d’impact social. Celle-ci répond à une très forte demande consommateur en les aidant à choisir les aliments. Notamment ceux qui possèdent la meilleure qualité nutritionnelle en passant par une information simple, compréhensible et surtout lisible.

Le gouvernement a rendu obligatoire d’afficher le nutriscore sur les emballages des produits pré-emballés. Les consommateurs trouvent parfois très compliqués de décrypter les tableaux nutritionnels et ils se retrouvent perdus dans cet amas d’informations.

Afin de faciliter la compréhension de ces derniers, le règlement européen autorise l’apposition d’une information nutritionnelle complémentaire sur les emballages.

Koust

Koust est un logiciel de gestion dédié aux métiers CHR.
Koust permet d’optimiser la rentabilité de votre établissement.
L’idée est simple : mieux contrôler les quantités et les coûts en ayant plus de contrôle sur l’approvisionnement et la production.

Essai gratuit

Demander une démo