Nutritional information in catering
allergenes - Traceability, Recipe management

Nutritional information in catering

For several years now, our food consumption habits have been changing. Moreover, consumers are increasingly aware of the need to eat better and healthier. It is therefore relevant to consider the need for transparency among customers. To this end, it is interesting to look at the issue of nutritional information in restaurants. In order to allow the consumer to make an informed choice and to give him the possibility of more precision on a dish present on your menu.

Consumer demand

Increasingly concerned about their health, weight and shape, consumers are demanding transparency and accessibility to nutritional information in the catering of your recipes. In addition, the number of people with dietary restrictions due to allergies, intolerances or simple cravings is constantly increasing.

The confidence of your customers

It is essential to provide your customers with this information in order to guarantee a bond of trust and total transparency. These values will be perceived positively by your target group and you will be able to build loyalty and therefore increase word of mouth.

Nutritional information in mass catering

In the case of mass catering, it is essential to control the nutritional composition of the dishes on the menu. Indeed, by serving different and varied dishes every day, it is essential to be able to measure the nutritional values dish by dish in order to establish an average over the week and to balance the consumers' diet as well as possible.

Displaying nutritional values can play an educational role. In France, one person in three suffers from at least one diet-related health problem. Diabetes, cholesterol and many others... They must therefore be careful, both at home and in restaurants.

With 17% of French people being obese, we understand the problems faced by our Western societies.

Numerous studies show that consumers almost systematically underestimate the caloric content of the food they eat. It is therefore necessary to monitor nutritional information, especially in school canteens.

There are several ways to identify the nutritional values in a recipe or dish.

The standard unit is the calorie. Indeed, it is the most widely used nutritional variable. Moreover, it is known to consumers. This energy value is measured in Kcal or KJ.

In France, it is not yet mandatory to display this information, unlike in the United States. But it is still worth considering whether to display it on your menu or at least to be able to provide an explanatory document to inform your customers if the information is not on the menu.

You can also choose to highlight other information such as allergens for example. Indeed, if the display of calories is not mandatory, the display of allergens is.


The list of allergens :

  1. Cereals containing gluten: wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt, kamut, etc.
  2. Peanuts
  3. Nuts: walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts, cashews, pecans, pistachios, etc.
  4. Eggs
  5. Fish
  6. Soya
  7. Milk
  8. Crustaceans
  9. Molluscs
  10. Céléri
  11. Mustard
  12. Sesame seeds
  13. Lupin
  14. Sulphur dioxide (SO2) and sulphites at concentrations above 10 mg/kg or 10 mg/litre

For each of your dishes, you must clearly indicate which allergens are present. The information must be visible on your menu or accessible on another medium, such as a digital QR code placed on your menu.

The benefits of nutritional information in catering

One of the benefits of knowing the nutritional information of your food is that you can create healthier recipes. You can create alternative recipes that are less rich and that meet a strong customer demand for " healthy " consumption. In addition, you will now be able to inform your customers about the composition of their plate, which is also in line with the transparency values expected by consumers.

Koust supports restaurant owners in these changes by offering features dedicated to nutritional information in restaurants and on allergens.

Photo credit: Photo by Joseph Gonzalez on Unsplash

Koust

Koust is a management software dedicated to CHR professions.
Koust allows you to optimize the profitability of your establishment.
The idea is simple: better control over quantities and costs by having more control over procurement and production.

Free Trial

Request a demo

Informations nutritionnelles en restauration
allergenes - Traçabilité, Gestion Recettes

Informations nutritionnelles en restauration

Depuis plusieurs années, nos habitudes de consommation alimentaire ont fortement évoluées. De plus les consommateurs sont de plus en plus en sensibles au manger mieux et plus sain. Il est donc pertinent de s’interroger sur le besoin de transparence des clients. Pour cela il est intéressant de se pencher sur la question des informations nutritionnelles en restauration. Afin de permettre au consommateur de choisir en toute connaissance de cause et de lui donner la possibilité de plus de précision sur un plat présent à votre carte.

Une demande consommateur

De plus en plus soucieux de leurs santés, de leur poids et de leurs formes, les consommateurs sont en demande d’une transparence et d’une accessibilité aux informations nutritionnelles en restauration de vos recettes. Par ailleurs, le nombre de personnes ayant des restrictions alimentaires en raison d’allergies, d’intolérances ou par simple envie subi une croissance constante.

La confiance de votre clientèle

Il est essentiel de fournir à vos clients ses informations afin de garantir un lien de confiance et une transparence totale. Ces valeurs seront perçues de manière positive par votre cible et vous pourrez, par ce biais, fidéliser vos cibles et par conséquent augmenter le bouche à oreille.

Les informations nutritionnelles en restauration collective

Dans le cas de la restauration collective, il est indispensable de maîtriser les compositions nutritionnelles des plats au menu. En effet, en servant tous les jours des plats différents et variés, il est primordial de pouvoir mesurer les valeurs nutritionnelles plat par plat afin d’établir une moyenne sur la semaine et d’équilibrer au mieux le régime alimentaire des consommateurs.

Afficher les valeurs nutritionnelles peut jouer un rôle pédagogique. En France, une personne sur trois souffre au moins d’un problème de santé lié à son alimentation. Diabète, cholestérol et bien d’autres… Ils doivent donc faire attention, autant chez eux qu’au restaurant.

Avec 17 % des Français qui sont obèses, nous comprenons bien les problématiques auxquelles sont confrontées nos sociétés occidentales.

De nombreuses études démontrent que les consommateurs sous estiment presque systématiquement les apports caloriques des aliments qu’ils consomment. Il est donc nécessaire de contrôler les informations nutritionnelles, d’autant plus dans les cantines scolaires.

Il existe plusieurs manières d’identifier les valeurs nutritionnelles dans une recette ou un plat.

L’unité standard est la calorie. En effet, c’est la variable nutritionnelle la plus rependue. De plus elle est connue des consommateurs. Cette valeur énergétique est mesurée en Kcal ou en KJ.

En France, il n’est pas encore obligatoire d’afficher ces informations, contrairement aux États-Unis. Mais il est tout de même intéressant de se poser la question, soit de l’afficher sur votre menu ou du moins d’être en capacité de fournir un document explicatif pour informer votre clientèle si l’information ne figure pas au menu.

Vous pouvez également choisir de mettre en avant d’autres informations comme les allergènes par exemple. En effet, si l’affiche des calories n’est pas obligatoire, celle des allergènes l’est belle et bien.


La liste des allergènes :

  1. Céréales contenant du gluten : blé, seigle, orge, avoine, épeautre, kamut…
  2. Arachides
  3. Fruits à coque : noix, amandes, noisettes, noix de cajou, noix de pécan, pistaches, etc.
  4. Œufs
  5. Poissons
  6. Soja
  7. Lait
  8. Crustacés
  9. Mollusques
  10. Céléri
  11. Moutarde
  12. Graines de sésame
  13. Lupin
  14. Dioxyde de soufre (SO2) et sulfites à des concentrations supérieures à 10 mg/kg ou à 10 mg/litre

Pour chacun de vos plats, vous devez indiquer clairement quels allergènes sont présent à l’intérieur. L’information doit être visible directement sur votre carte ou accessible sur un autre support, numérique par exemple grâce à un QR code placé sur votre menu.

Les avantages des informations nutritionnelles en restauration

Un des avantages de connaitre les informations nutritionnelles en restauration de ses plats est la possibilité de créer des recettes plus saines. Vous pouvez créer des recettes alternatives moins riches qui répondent à une forte demande client de consommer « healthy ». De plus vous aurez désormais la possibilité d’informer votre clientèle sur la composition de leur assiette ce qui est également en accord avec les valeurs de transparence attendues par les consommateurs.

Koust accompagne les restaurateurs dans ces changements en proposant des fonctionnalités dédiées aux informations nutritionnelles en restauration et sur les allergènes.

Crédit photo : Photo by Joseph Gonzalez on Unsplash

Koust

Koust est un logiciel de gestion dédie aux métiers CHR.
Koust permet d’optimiser la rentabilité de votre établissement.
L’idée est simple : mieux contrôler les quantités et les coûts en ayant plus de contrôle sur l’approvisionnement et la production.

Essai gratuit

Demander une démo