2021 trends in the restaurant industry
Development

2021 trends in the restaurant industry

The year 2020 will have been completely shaken up and our consumption habits profoundly changed. But what are the trends for 2021 in the restaurant industry?

In the restaurant industry, one concept obviously stood out during this very special year: takeaway sales. This way of consuming, which has become firmly established in our habits, will probably continue for a few more years.  

New concepts have emerged based on this takeaway principle. Many entrepreneurs then asked themselves the following question. "How to guarantee the success of its restaurant business during the Covid crisis when all the restaurants are closed? »

Trends for 2021 : Dark Kitchen

Indeed, many costs are to be taken into account during a catering activity. In particular the wage bill but also the charges related to the premises, the operating equipment and the location. It is then necessary to wonder how to reduce to the maximum its operating costs in order to withdraw the maximum margin.

The concept of the Dark Kitchen, which had already existed for several years, exploded in 2020. This model of catering consists of working in a room composed only of a kitchen. No restaurant room or space dedicated to customers. This saves a considerable amount of space and therefore considerably reduces the operating costs of the establishment. Moreover, the costs related to the employees are drastically reduced. This is due to the fact that the number of people needed to run a Dark Kitchen is much less than that of a traditional restaurant. The ghost restaurant market exploded in Europe in 2020 and is expected to reach $656 billion by 2026.

Another possible solution is shared kitchens, the concept is simple, share a kitchen between several restaurants. This also reduces operating costs. This is the case of Deliveroo for example, which offers shared kitchens. These are dedicated to restaurant owners who wish to extend their delivery area.

With the reopening of restaurants, the number of restaurant owners offering takeaway sales will decrease. But this concept should continue in the coming years.

Indeed, consumers have generally become accustomed to this system and delivery platforms have grown considerably as a result.

Responsible consumption

Trends in 2021: Responsible consumption is another trend for the year 2021. In the air of time for a few years already the responsible kitchen takes a more and more important part in our habits of consumption.

Local products, organic products, short circuits, so many elements which weigh more and more in the decision of purchase of the consumers and it is the same thing in the restaurant. Customers want to know the origin of the products they consume as well as the manufacturing process.

It is therefore important to adapt the offer to consumer demand. It is therefore in the restaurant owners' interest to offer dishes that correspond to these consumer trends and to favour responsible products. The Ecotable label, which is increasingly sought after by restaurateurs for its guarantee of quality and eco-responsibility, is a strong example of this awareness.

Digitalization

The sanitary crisis has amplified in a very important way the phenomenon of the digitalization of the catering establishments. Already highly recommended for several years, it is now a mandatory requirement. No one can escape from it, otherwise his income will be considerably reduced or even disappear. Previously used for communication, customer reviews or reservations. The digital is now essential to ensure the main and vital function of a restaurant, Sales.

This is why many regions offer to help restaurant owners to digitalize their establishments by means of a digital voucher.

It is therefore necessary to have digital tools to help you in this process. Several software programs can allow you to reference your establishment on delivery platforms. Or to create menus in the form of QR-Code which facilitates the respect of the barrier gestures and which allows the respect of the rules in hygiene and traceability.

Beyond the question of hygiene, it is an advantageous saving of time for the restaurant owners, the service at table is accelerated which frees more time for the waiters.

Photo credit: Background photo created by evening_tao - www.freepik.com

Koust

Koust is a management software dedicated to CHR professions.
Koust allows you to optimize the profitability of your establishment.
The idea is simple: better control over quantities and costs by having more control over procurement and production.

Free Trial

Request a demo

Les tendances 2021 en restauration
Développement

Les tendances 2021 en restauration

L’année 2020 aura été complétement bousculé et nos habitudes de consommation profondément changées. Mais quelles sont les tendances 2021 en restauration ?

En restauration un concept c’est évidemment très fortement démarqué pendant cette année très spéciale, la vente à emporter. Cette manière de consommer qui s’est fortement implantée dans nos habitudes va probablement perdurer pendant quelques années encore.  

De nouveaux concepts ont alors émergé partant de ce principe de vente à emporter. De nombreux entrepreneurs se sont alors posé la question suivante. « Comment garantir le succès de son activité de restauration pendant la crise du Covid alors que tous les restaurants sont fermés ? »

Les tendances 2021 : Dark Kitchen

En effet de nombreux couts sont à prendre en compte lors d’une activité de restauration. Notamment la cour salariale mais également les charges liées aux locaux, au matériel de fonctionnement et à l’emplacement. Il faut alors se demander comment réduire au maximum ses coûts de fonctionnement afin de retirer le maximum de marge.

La notion de Dark Kitchen déjà existante depuis plusieurs années a explosé en 2020.  Ce modèle de restauration consiste à travailler dans un local composé uniquement d’une cuisine. Pas de salle de restaurant ni d’espace dédié aux clients. Cela permet donc de gagner une place non négligeable et donc de diminuer considérablement les coûts de fonctionnement de l’établissement. De plus les coûts liés aux salariés sont drastiquement diminués. Cela est dû au fait que le nombre de personnes nécessaire pour faire tourner une Dark Kitchen est bien moindre que celui pour d’un restaurant traditionnel.   Le marché des restaurants fantômes a explosé en Europe en 2020 et devrait atteindre les 656 milliards de dollars ici 2026.

Une autre solution possible est celle des cuisines partagées, le concept est simple, partager une cuisine entre plusieurs restaurants. Cela permet également de réduire les coûts d’exploitation. C’est le cas de Deliveroo par exemple qui propose des cuisines partagées. Celles-ci sont dédiées aux restaurateurs qui souhaitent étendre leur zone de livraison.

Avec la réouverture des restaurants, le nombre de restaurateurs proposant de la vente à emporter va diminuer. Mais ce concept devrait perdurer dans les prochaines années.

En effet, dans l’ensemble, les consommateurs se sont habitués à ce système et les plateformes de livraison ont de ce fait considérablement augmenté leur croissance.

Consommer responsable

Les tendances 2021 : Consommer responsable, voici une autre tendance de cette année 2021. Dans l’air du temps depuis quelques années déjà la cuisine responsable prend une part de plus en plus importante dans nos habitudes de consommation.

Les produits locaux, bio, les circuits court, tant d’éléments qui pèsent de plus en plus lourd dans la décision d’achat des consommateurs et c’est la même chose au restaurant. Les clients veulent connaitre l’origine des produits qu’ils consomment ainsi que les processus de fabrication.

Il est donc important d’adapter son offre à la demande consommateur. Les restaurateurs ont donc tout intérêt à proposer des plats correspondant à ces tendances de consommation et à privilégier des produits responsables. Un label incarne fortement cette prise de conscience, le label Ecotable, qui est de plus en plus recherché par les restaurateurs de par son gage de qualité et d’écoresponsabilité.

La digitalisation

La crise sanitaire a amplifier de manière très importante le phénomène de la digitalisation des établissements de restauration. Déjà très recommandée depuis plusieurs années c’est aujourd’hui une case obligatoire. Par laquelle personne ne peut échapper sous peine de voir ses revenus considérablement diminuer voire disparaitre. Précédemment utiliser pour la communication, les avis clients ou encore les réservations. Le numérique est aujourd’hui indispensable pour assurer la fonction principale et vitale d’un restaurant, La Vente.

C’est pourquoi de nombreuses régions proposent d’aider les restaurateurs à digitaliser leurs établissements par le biais d’un chèque numérique.

Il est donc nécessaire de se munir d’outils digitaux pour vous accompagner dans cette démarche. Plusieurs logiciels peuvent vous permettre de référencer votre établissement sur des plateformes de livraison. Ou encore de créer des menus sous forme de QR-Code ce qui facilite le respect des gestes barrières et qui permet le respect des règles en matière d’hygiène et de traçabilité.

Au-delà de la question d’hygiène c’est un gain de temps avantageux pour les restaurateurs, le service à table est accéléré ce qui libère plus du temps pour les serveurs.

Crédit photo : Background photo created by evening_tao – www.freepik.com

Koust

Koust est un logiciel de gestion dédie aux métiers CHR.
Koust permet d’optimiser la rentabilité de votre établissement.
L’idée est simple : mieux contrôler les quantités et les coûts en ayant plus de contrôle sur l’approvisionnement et la production.

Essai gratuit

Demander une démo