Eco-responsible restaurants: in the spotlight
restaurant management

Eco-responsible restaurants: in the spotlight

The ecological trend, also known as "eco-friendly", is now a way of life in its own right for many French people. Eco-responsible thinking is becoming more and more important in society, especially in view of the worrying ecological situation. To ensure a future tomorrow, it is essential to take care of our planet today.

This growing ethical and ecological awareness has gradually found its way into our plates and the so-called ecological or eco-responsible restaurants have understood this.

But who are these new green restaurants that are popping up in our cities?

What are eco-responsible restaurants?

Eco-responsible restaurants are a topical issue, as in a society increasingly committed to social and environmental concerns, eating better is an inevitable turn.

Eco-responsible restaurants include in their mantra not only environmental but also ethical issues. Combining social and ecological responsibility, these establishments are rethinking their way of working in order to be part of a more responsible approach, which is essential for the preservation of our natural heritage. 

The beginnings of green restaurants

But where does this movement of eco responsibility in the kitchen come from?

The "slow food" movement, launched in the 1980s, was the first to take a fresh look at food, agriculture and gastronomy in restaurants. The name "slow food" is in direct opposition to the fast food concept. The movement puts forward values such as the safeguarding of biodiversity, the preservation of the environment and the fair remuneration of producers. This Italian "eco gastronomy" movement will continue to grow for years and will have a major influence on world gastronomy. Today, the movement has more than 82,000 members in some 50 countries.

Aim and purpose of its restaurants

The aim of these restaurants is to highlight the environment and to address ethical and ecological issues. These restaurants aim to reduce their ecological footprint and rehabilitate a more natural and local cuisine.

If the movement has been able to impose itself in recent years, it is partly thanks to the ecological movement which is developing more and more and which is becoming more democratic. The aim is to respond to a real social problem, the preservation of the environment.

Behind the desire for restaurants to raise awareness of ecological, environmental and ethical issues, there is also a marketing goal. 

Indeed, restaurants have had to adapt to the new concerns and expectations of their customers. These restaurants are responding to a strong and growing demand from customers looking for a new cuisine and a new way of consuming. They want to consume better, smarter and more responsibly. The model of the ecological restaurant is therefore very attractive and gives a very positive image to the restaurant that implements it.

What do eco-responsible restaurants do?

Use of organic products

As you may have noticed, the trend is towards organic products!

Over the last ten years, organic food has become one of the main criteria for the French when it comes to good quality products. Today, nearly 76% of French people consume organic products at least once a month, including 13% who claim to consume them every day. The French are looking for a healthier and more eco-friendly diet.

Indeed, so-called intensive agriculture totally disrupts biodiversity and pesticides ravage the soil. France ranks second in the European pesticide market and is one of the main consumers in the world.

It is therefore obvious that one of the first measures implemented by so-called ecological restaurants is organic and natural food. Offering organic products is a guarantee of safety for consumers. The restaurants assure them of products that are good for their health, for the planet, with a low ecological footprint.

Local products

Currently, 82% of French people prefer to buy products of French origin and 77% of them prefer to buy products from local producers. Consumers are more and more attentive to the origin of what they consume.

Eco-responsible restaurants will therefore favour French origin, ultra-local products and small producers. The short circuit is therefore favoured, which allows producers to sell their products directly to the restaurant without going through a third party.

As a result, its establishments avoid long-distance transport, which has a positive impact on the environment and limits their carbon footprint to a minimum.

Moreover, since the Covid-19 crisis, it has become essential to support the local economy!

A kitchen with a focus on plants

Eating meat every day is outdated! The average meat consumption per capita in France has decreased by 12% in 10 years. In fact, in recent years there has been a real awakening of awareness about the living conditions of animals in intensive farming and the dubiously ethical methods of certain slaughterhouses.

But moving towards a more plant-based diet is as much an ethical issue as an ecological one. Indeed, livestock farming is also responsible for a large proportion of greenhouse gas emissions, i.e. 18% (more than transport), and it is foodstuffs that cause the most greenhouse gas emissions according to the IPCC experts. Moreover, livestock farming is responsible for 8% of global water consumption and is one of the main causes of deforestation worldwide.

In addition to meat consumption, there has also been a decline in the consumption of animal products, which are responsible for intense global pollution.

As a result, vegan and vegetarian diets have become much more popular, as has flexitarianism. In France, 20% of the population is now defined as flexitarian, i.e. a person who reduces his or her consumption of meat and fish as much as possible, but allows himself or herself to eat them occasionally.

It is therefore essential for green restaurateurs to go more green!

A large number of restaurants have therefore decided to make vegetarian products the stars of their menu. Vegetables are no longer just a side dish, they are now at the centre of our plates and have a central place in the kitchen.

Reducing waste

In France, food losses and waste represent 1.3 billion tons of products per year. All this waste has a negative impact on the planet, it is responsible for the release of 3.3 gigatonnes of greenhouse gases per year. If food waste were a country, it would be the third largest polluter in the world after the United States and China. Food waste therefore has an impressive carbon footprint, but also a huge water consumption.

According to Europe 1, "it takes about 1,000 litres of water to produce one kilo of flour. Throwing away a loaf of bread is therefore equivalent to throwing away a whole bathtub. For one kilo of red meat, the figure rises to 70 bathtubs, if we take into account the water consumed by the animals and used to produce the food they eat.

To reduce this waste, restaurateurs are implementing different strategies.

Nothing is thrown away, everything is transformed!

Here are some tips on how to waste as little as possible:

  • Turn your peelings into chips or your wilted courgettes into soup.
  • Serve the right amount of food for your customers, there is no point in making plates that no one will be able to finish.
  • Be careful with your stocks, if you buy too much you risk losses.
  • Have a composter
  • If, despite everything, you still have food on your hands, contact associations! Donate your unused products to those who need them.

Here are some associations to contact:

La Tablée des Chefs (France, Canada, Mexico)

Red Cross (worldwide)

Les restos du cœur (France)

The food bank (France)

The labels

Ecological and eco-responsible restaurants are awarded a number of labels to prove their actions and involvement in sustainable development. The labels will also allow customers to choose the restaurant that best suits their needs. For example, a restaurant with the eco-responsible label implies that the cuisine offered is made from fresh and local products.

The international EcoCook® certification

The EcoCook certification is recognised worldwide as the maximum legitimacy of sustainability in the restaurant sector. This certification is awarded to restaurants that have sustainable habits in the way they cook and in the operation of their establishment, with the aim of contributing to the reduction of environmental pollution.

Ecotable label

The Ecotable label aims to reward and promote eco-responsible restaurants by awarding them ecotable badges. 8 criteria are taken into account: supply, water and energy consumption, communication, health, the menu, choice of cleaning products, food recycling and waste.

Green Food Label

It is the first eco-responsible label for the restaurant industry in France. This 100% independent label enables consumers to identify chefs committed to sustainable development. Obtaining the label is subject to compliance with and verification of the Green Food charter.

This charter is made up of ten strict criteria, allowing a clear and global vision of the environmental footprint of a restaurant: from the sourcing of products to waste management and the energy used. The charter is intended to evolve and adapt to legislation and society, as well as to the various environmental and social issues.

The Framheim label

This label focuses on the fight against waste. Although the ultimate goal is zero waste, this label promotes the commitment of the restaurant to progress towards this goal.

This allows the restaurant to demonstrate to its customers that it is committed to fighting waste and over-packaging.

Labelled restaurants also benefit from media exposure thanks to the label's partners and sponsors.

In addition, it is possible for them to join a forum for exchanges between restaurateurs. This allows them to share good tips and anti-waste tips.

As you can see, our future is going green! Plant-based cuisine and restaurants with an environmental focus will certainly become the pillars of tomorrow's gastronomy.

Whether from a social, ethical, environmental or health point of view, everything is pushing us towards a different way of eating and consuming, a model in line with our future.

It is therefore more necessary than ever to turn towards an ecological transition. Every gesture counts!

The popularisation of ecological restaurants is therefore following this wave of eco-responsible awareness and is becoming more popular every day. Eco-responsible restaurants are in the spotlight and open the door to a more plant-based, healthier and more local gastronomy, but always as tasty and delicious!

So don't hesitate any longer, go for it!

Koust

Koust is a management software dedicated to CHR professions.
Koust allows you to optimize the profitability of your establishment.
The idea is simple: better control over quantities and costs by having more control over procurement and production.

Free Trial

Request a demo

Les restaurants éco-responsables : au coeur de l’actualité
gestion restaurant

Les restaurants éco-responsables : au coeur de l’actualité

La tendance écologique, aussi dite “eco-friendly”, est aujourd’hui un mode de vie à part entière pour beaucoup de Français. Penser éco responsable s’ancre de plus en plus dans la société et prend de l’ampleur, notamment au vue de l’inquiétante actualité écologique. Pour s’assurer un avenir demain, il est essentiel de prendre soin de notre planète aujourd’hui.

Cette conscience éthique et écologique grandissante, s’est petit à petit installée dans nos assiettes et les restaurants dit écologiques où écoresponsables l’ont bien compris.

Mais qui sont ces nouveaux restaurants au concept vert qui font leurs apparitions dans nos villes ?

Qu’est ce que les restaurants éco-responsables?

Les restaurants éco-responsables s’inscrivent dans l’actualité, en effet dans une société de plus en plus engagée dans les préoccupations sociales et environnementales, Manger mieux est un tournant inévitable.

Les restaurants éco-responsables intègrent dans leur mantra des enjeux non seulement environnementaux mais aussi éthiques. Mêlant une responsabilité sociale et écologique, ces établissements repensent leur manière de travailler pour s’inscrire dans une démarche plus responsable, primordiale à la préservation de notre patrimoine naturel. 

Les débuts des restaurants écologiques

Mais d’où vient ce mouvement de l’éco responsabilité en cuisine ?

C’est le mouvement “slow food”, lancé dans les années 80, qui porte le premier un regard neuf sur l’alimentation, l’agriculture et la gastronomie en restauration. Le nom “slow food” s’inscrit dans une opposition directe au concept des fast-foods. Le mouvement met en avant des valeurs telles que la sauvegarde de la biodiversité, la préservation de l’environnement et la juste rémunération des producteurs. Ce mouvement “éco gastronomique” italien ne cessera de croître durant des années et aura une influence capitale sur la gastronomie mondiale. Aujourd’hui, le mouvement compte plus de 82 000 membres répartis dans une cinquantaine de pays.

But et objectif de ses restaurants

L’objectif de ses restaurateurs est de mettre en avant l’environnement et de se poser sur des questions éthiques et écologiques. Ces restaurants ont pour vocation de réduire leur empreinte écologique et de réhabiliter une cuisine plus naturelle et locale.

Si le mouvement a su s’imposer depuis quelques années, c’est en partie grâce au mouvement écologique qui se développe de plus en plus et qui se démocratise. Le but étant de répondre à un réel problème de société, la préservation de l’environnement.

Derrière l’envie pour les restaurants d’éveiller les consciences sur les problèmes écologiques, environnementaux et éthiques, il y a également un but marketing. 

En effet, les restaurants ont dû s’adapter aux nouvelles préoccupations et attentes de leur clientèle. Ces restaurants répondent à une forte de demande, qui plus est croissante, de clients recherchant une nouvelle cuisine, une nouvelle manière de consommer. Ils veulent consommer mieux, plus intelligemment, plus responsable. Le modèle du restaurant écologique est donc très vendeur et attire, de plus, il donne une image très positive du restaurant qui le met en place.

Que mettent en place les restaurants éco-responsables ?

Utilisation de produits bio

Vous l’aurez sûrement remarqué, la tendance est au bio !

Depuis une dizaine d’années, le bio est devenu l’un des critères principaux des Français lorsque l’on parle de produits de bonne qualité. Aujourd’hui, près de 76% des Français consomment des produits bio au moins une fois par mois dont 13% qui affirment en consommer tous les jours. Les Français sont à la recherche d’une alimentation plus saine et éco responsable.

En effet, l’agriculture dite intensive dérègle totalement la biodiversité et les pesticides ravages les sols. La France se place en 2e position sur le marché européen des pesticides et est l’un des principaux consommateurs dans le monde.

Il est donc évident que l’une des premières mesures mise en place par les restaurants dit écologique est l’alimentation biologique et naturelle. Proposer des produits issus de l’agriculture biologique est un gage de sûreté pour les consommateurs. Les restaurants leur assurent des produits bons pour leur santé, pour la planète, avec une faible empreinte écologique.

Des produits locaux

À l’heure actuelle, 82% des Français privilégient l’achat de produits d’origine française et 77% d’entre eux l’achat de produits proposés par des producteurs locaux. Les consommateurs sont de plus en plus attentifs à l’origine de ce qu’ils consomment.

Les restaurants éco-responsables vont alors privilégier l’origine française, l’ultra-locale et les petits producteurs. Le circuit court est donc privilégié, cela permet aux producteurs de vendre leurs produits directement au restaurant sans passer par des tiers.

Ainsi, ses établissements évitent les transports de longue distance ce qui a un impact positif pour l’environnement et limite leur empreinte carbone au maximum.

De plus, depuis la crise du Covid-19, il est devenu essentiel de soutenir l’économie locale !

Une cuisine tournée vers le végétal

Manger de la viande tous les jours, c’est dépassé ! La consommation moyenne de viande par habitant en France a diminué de 12 % en 10 ans. En effet, on observe depuis quelques années un réel éveil des consciences sur les conditions de vie des animaux en élevage intensif et sur les méthodes douteusement éthique de certains abattoirs.

Mais le fait de tendre vers un régime plus végétal est tout autant une question éthique qu’écologique. En effet, l’élevage est également responsable d’une grande part des émissions de gaz à effets de serre, soit 18 % (davantage que les transports), ce seraient d’ailleurs les denrées alimentaires qui en causeraient le plus selon les experts du GIEC. L’élevage est de surcroît responsable de 8% de la consommation d’eau mondiale, et l’une des causes principales de la déforestation à l’échelle planétaire.

Au-delà de la consommation de viande, on observe également un recul de la consommation de produits d’origine animale, responsables d’une intense pollution globale.

De ce fait les régimes alimentaire végétalien et végétarien se sont beaucoup démocratisé tout comme le flexitarisme. Ainsi, en France, 20 % de la population se définit aujourd’hui comme flexitariens, c’est-à-dire une personne réduisant au maximum sa consommation de viande et de poisson, mais s’autorisant à en manger de manière occasionnelle.

Il est donc essentiel pour les restaurateurs écologiques de se tourner davantage vers le vert!

Un grand nombre de restaurants ont donc décidé de faire des produits végétariens les stars de leur menu. Plus question que les légumes soient seulement des accompagnements, ils sont maintenant au centre de nos assiettes et ont une place centrale dans la cuisine.

Diminuer le gaspillage

En France, les pertes et le gaspillage alimentaires représentent 1,3 milliard de tonnes de produits par an. Tous ces déchets ont un impact néfaste pour la planète, ils sont responsables du rejet de 3,3 gigatonnes de gaz à effet de serre par an. Si le gaspillage alimentaire était un pays, ce serait le 3e plus grand pollueur du monde après les Etats-Unis et la Chine. Le gaspillage alimentaire, c’est donc une empreinte carbone impressionnante, mais aussi une énorme consommation d’eau.

Selon Europe 1, “il faut environ 1.000 litres d’eau pour produire un kilo de farine. Jeter une baguette de pain équivaut donc à jeter une baignoire entière. Pour un kilo de viande rouge, le chiffre monte même à 70 baignoires, si l’on prend en compte l’eau consommée par les bêtes et utilisée pour la production des aliments qu’elles consomment.”

Pour réduire ce gaspillage, les restaurateurs mettent en place différentes stratégies.

Rien ne se jette, tout se transforme !

Voilà quelques petit conseils pour gaspiller le moins possible :

  • Faites de vos épluchures des chips ou encore de vos courgettes flétries une soupe.
  • Servez des quantités adaptées à votre clientèle, rien ne sert de faire des assiettes que personne ne sera en capacité de terminer.
  • Faites attention à vos stocks, si vous achetez trop vous risquez d’avoir des pertes.
  • Ayez un composteur
  • Si, malgré tout, il vous reste des denrées sur les bras, contactez des associations ! Faites don de vos produits non utilisés à ceux qui en ont besoin.

Voici quelques associations à contacter :

La Tablée des Chefs (France, Canada, Mexique)

La Croix-Rouge (partout dans le monde)

Les restos du cœur (France métropolitaine)

La banque alimentaire (France)

Les labels

Les restaurants écologiques et éco responsables sont bénéficiaires d’un certain nombre de labels afin de prouver leurs actes et leur implication dans le développement durable. Les labels vont également permettre aux clients de choisir le restaurant qui conviendra le mieux à leur valeur. Par exemple, un restaurant labellisé éco-responsable implique que la cuisine proposée est faite à partir de produits frais et de produits locaux.

La certification internationale EcoCook®

La certification EcoCook est reconnue dans le monde entier comme la légitimité maximale de la durabilité dans le secteur de la restauration. Cette certification est accordée aux restaurants qui ont des habitudes durables dans leur manière de cuisiner et dans le fonctionnement de leur établissement, dans le but de contribuer à la réduction de la pollution de l’environnement.

Label Ecotable

Le label Ecotable quant à lui vise à récompenser et à valoriser les restaurants éco-responsables en leur décernant des badges écotables, 8 critères sont pris en compte: l’approvisionnement, la consommation d’eau et d’énergie, la communication, la santé, la carte, le choix des produits d’entretien, le recyclage alimentaire, le gaspillage.

Label Green Food

C’est le 1er label éco-responsable de la restauration en France. Ce label 100 % indépendant permet au consommateur de repérer les chefs engagés dans le développement durable. L’obtention du label est soumise au respect et à la vérification de la charte Green Food.

Cette charte se compose de dix critères stricts, permettant d’avoir une vision claire et globale de ce que peut-être l’empreinte environnementale d’un restaurant : du sourcing des produits à la gestion des déchets, en passant par les énergies utilisées. La charte se veut évolutive et s’adapte à la législation, à la société, mais aussi aux différents enjeux environnementaux et sociaux.

Le label Framheim

Ce label met en avant la lutte contre le gaspillage. Bien que le but final soit le zéro déchet, ce label permet de promouvoir l’engagement du restaurant qui progresse vers cet objectif.

Cela permet au restaurant de démontrer à ces clients qu’il s’attèle à lutter contre le gaspillage et le suremballage.

Les restaurants labellisés bénéficient également d’une mise en avant médiatique grâce aux partenaires et sponsors du label.

De plus, il est possible pour eux de rejoindre un forum d’échanges entre restaurateurs. Celui-ci leur permettant de partager des bons plans et des astuces anti-gaspi.

Vous l’aurez compris, notre avenir prend le chemin du vert ! La cuisine végétale et les restaurants tournés vers des préoccupations environnementales vont très certainement devenir les piliers de la gastronomie de demain.

Que ce soit d’un point de vue social, éthique, environnemental ou encore sanitaire, tout nous pousse vers un mode d’alimentation et de consommation différent, un modèle en accord avec notre futur.

Il est donc aujourd’hui, plus que jamais nécessaire de se tourner vers une transition écologique. Chaque geste compte !

La popularisation des restaurants écologiques suit donc cette vague de prise de conscience éco responsable et se popularise un peu plus chaque jour. Les restaurants éco-responsables sont au cœur de l’actualité et ouvrent la porte à une gastronomie plus végétale, plus saine, plus locale mais toujours aussi gourmande et savoureuse!

Alors n’hésitez plus, lancez vous dans l’aventure !

Koust

Koust est un logiciel de gestion dédie aux métiers CHR.
Koust permet d’optimiser la rentabilité de votre établissement.
L’idée est simple : mieux contrôler les quantités et les coûts en ayant plus de contrôle sur l’approvisionnement et la production.

Essai gratuit

Demander une démo