Become a restaurant manager
restaurant management

Become a restaurant manager

Becoming a restaurant manager or opening a restaurant involves a lot of questions and we don't always have the answers...

When you become a restaurant manager there are several parameters to take into account. First of all, you have to understand the job and its stakes. But it is also essential to know the skills required for this job as well as the tools that will be very useful and even indispensable.

Understanding the business

Being a restaurant manager is in charge of the teams in the kitchen but also in the dining room. He or she is responsible for managing his or her teams and for conveying a qualitative image of the restaurant.

He is also responsible for the administrative part of the establishment, i.e. finance, accounting and human resources. Of course, he is required to work with collaborators who are specialists in each of their fields.
He makes sure that each employee of the establishment fulfils his tasks and his position.

It measures the turnover but above all the profitability of the restaurant.
This role of restaurant manager can be exercised in several establishments, in a restaurant chain, in one's own establishment, in collective catering but also in a hotel.

Required competencies

The job of restaurant manager is relatively complex, as you have to be very versatile and understand the issues, structure and strategy of the company as a whole. You therefore need a global vision, which is essential for good medium and long-term management, but you also need to know how to be on the ground when employees need you. This skill is essential in order to remain close to your employees and to maintain good relations.

It is also very important to have management skills, as the restaurant manager must be able to implement a strategy to monitor and control the financial progress of the restaurant. He must then be able to modify and improve this strategy if the objectives set are not achieved and, above all, understand why they are not achieved.

Management tools

From numerous tools can help you and accompany you in the management of your restaurant. You can equip yourself with several tools, one for each step of management or a single one that will allow you to have a complete overview of your and a detailed view of each pole of your restaurant.

Koust is an essential ally for this, we offer you to test the software for free and to benefit from a demo in order to know all our functionalities.

Photo credit : Photo business created by freepic.diller - en.freepik.com

Koust

Koust is a management software dedicated to CHR professions.
Koust allows you to optimize the profitability of your establishment.
The idea is simple: better control over quantities and costs by having more control over procurement and production.

Free Trial

Request a demo

Devenir gérant de restaurant
gestion restaurant

Devenir gérant de restaurant

Devenir gérant d’un restaurant ou ouvrir un restaurant implique beaucoup de questions et nous n’y avons pas toujours les réponses…

Lorsque l’on devient gérant de restaurant il y a plusieurs paramètres à prendre en compte. Dans un premier temps il faut comprendre le métier et ses enjeux. Mais il est également primordial de connaître les compétences nécessaires à cette fonction ainsi que les outils qui vont seront très utiles voir indispensable.

Comprendre le métier

Être gérant de restaurant est en charge des équipes en cuisine mais aussi en salle. Il a la responsabilité de diriger ses équipes et renvoyer une image qualitative du restaurant.

Il est également responsable de la partie administrative de l’établissement, c’est-à-dire des finances, de la comptabilité et des ressources humaines. Il est bien sur amené à travailler avec des collaborateurs spécialistes dans chacun de leurs domaines.
Il s’assure que chaque employé de l’établissement remplit bien ses tâches et son poste.

Il mesure le chiffre d’affaires mais surtout la rentabilité du restaurant.
Ce rôle de gérant de restaurant peut être exercé dans plusieurs établissements, dans une chaîne de restaurants, dans son propre établissement, dans de la restauration collective mais également dans un hôtel.

Les compétences requises

Le métier de gérant de restaurant est relativement complexe, en effet il faut être très polyvalent et comprendre les enjeux, la structure et la stratégie de l’entreprise dans son ensemble. Il faut donc une vision globale qui est indispensable à une bonne gestion à moyen et long terme mais il faut également savoir être sur le terrain lorsque les salariés ont besoin de vous. Cette compétence est indispensable afin de rester proche de vos collaborateurs et d’entretenir de bonnes relations.

Il est également très important de posséder des compétences en matière de gestion, en effet le gérant de restaurant doit être en capacité de mettre en place une stratégie afin de suivre et de contrôler la progression financière du restaurant. Il doit ensuite être capable de modifier et d’améliorer cette stratégie si les objectifs fixés ne sont pas atteints et surtout comprendre pourquoi ils ne sont pas atteints.

Les outils de gestions

De nombreux outils peuvent vous aider et accompagner dans la gestion de votre restaurant. Vous pouvez vous équiper de plusieurs outils, un pour chaque étape de gestion ou un seul et unique qui vous permettra d’avoir une vue d’ensemble de votre établissement ainsi qu’une vue détailler de chaque pôle de votre restaurant.

Pour cela Koust est un allié indispensable, nous vous proposons de tester gratuitement le logiciel et de bénéficier d’une démo afin de connaître toutes nos fonctionnalités.

Crédit photo : Affaires photo créé par freepic.diller – fr.freepik.com

Koust

Koust est un logiciel de gestion dédie aux métiers CHR.
Koust permet d’optimiser la rentabilité de votre établissement.
L’idée est simple : mieux contrôler les quantités et les coûts en ayant plus de contrôle sur l’approvisionnement et la production.

Essai gratuit